Animal Business: Short Series

I wasn’t going to share these, as i’m not sure if they will make sense if you don’t know the people the animals represent. But I love them all, so have decided I will share them :-).
I hope you enjoy, Animal Business, a series of short poem-ish tales about the relationships that shape us.

Two Tigers

Two Tigers were on the run
just trying to have some fun
before adult responsibilities could drown them.
They visited dank wolf dens
and spend nights in sheep pens
before finding bridges blocked with barbwire fences.
That time is now lost
but it was well worth the cost
and together again in old age they will be.

The Tiger & The Sheep

The Tiger & The Sheep no longer reap
even though The Hunter did not find them.
The Shepherd ruined the day
& drove The Sheep away
to the greener pastures behind him.

The Tiger & The Hunter

The Tiger did try to run
but The Hunter he had a gun
& back down to earth she was shot.
Cubs were born
on a diet of new dawn
& The Tiger well worn
settled into life beside them.

The Dog

When The Dog was a pup
he used to hide in the grass
and watch the wolves swagger past
wishing he’d grow up just like them.
Grow up he soon did,
howling & fit,
in with the wolves around him.

The Tiger

To her younger self
The Tiger was mean
and into a slumber she went.
The Tiger no longer sleeps
thanks in part to The Sheep.
She no longer hides in herds.
She finds truth & solace in words.

The Tiger & The Dog

When The Tiger & The Dog did meet
He sat at her feet.
Astray as he was
she tried to mind him.
More time has now passed
and this meeting won’t be the last.
Savage friends you will always find them.

Thanks for visiting The Adventures of SacaKat.
Until next time, enjoy your shelves :-).

Inkling: MG Review

42090826Inkling by Kenneth Oppel
Genre: Middle Grade, Magical Realism
Publication: October 1st 2018
Publisher: Walker Australia
Source: Review copy from publisher – Thank You
Add to Goodreads
Rating: ✵ ✵ ✵ ✵

Ethan’s dad is a comic artist whose greatest creation, the mutant superhero Kren, brought him fame and glory. But after his dad’s string of successful books, a tragedy strikes the family and now his dad is completely stuck.

If only artistic talent were hereditary. Ethan is stuck on a graphic-novel project of his own at school and won’t own up to the fact that he can’t draw. When one night an ink-blot creation emerges from his father’s sketchbook, the family’s whole world begins to change.


On the surface this is a light, fluffy and fun read about a boy who makes friends with an animated splotch of ink who can do extraordinary things. Down deeper it deals with grief and mental illness.

The story follows Ethan a loving and caring young boy as he deals with the life left behind after his mother’s’ death. His father, a comic book writer and artist by trade is not coping with the loss of his wife and as such the duties of looking after the house and his 9-year-old sister who has down syndrome fall on Ethan’s shoulders. It’s never stated how old Ethan is. But the feeling I got reading the story is that he’s somewhere around 11-12 years old. A sweet and caring boy that circumstance has made mature for his age, but he hasn’t hit his teens yet – that was the vibe I got.

Rickman the overweight cat provides humorous relief throughout the book, as does Inkling himself.

There are the high-jinks of Ethan getting caught with Inkling, Inkling being inknapped, a rescue mission and so much more.

Inkling by Kenneth Oppel is a glorious book. It hit a lot harder than I was expecting when I went into it. But it weaved a beautiful story of a family drowning in, then overcoming their grief. The ending leaves you with a warmness in your heart.

Oppel & Inkling’s links: Website | Twitter | Booktopia | Bookdepository | Amazon

Thanks for visiting The Adventures of SacaKat.
Until next time, enjoy your shelves :-).

Emergency Contact: YA Review

40491131

Emergency Contact by Mary H.K. Choi
Genre: Contemporary YA
Publication: January 1st, 2019
Publisher: Simon Schuster Australia
Source: Review copy from publisher – Thank You.
Add to Goodreads
Rating: ✵ ✵ ✵ ✵

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

For Penny Lee, high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she’d somehow landed a boyfriend, they never managed to know much about each other. Now Penny is heading to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer. It’s seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can’t wait to leave behind.

Sam’s stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he’s a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him.

When Sam and Penny cross paths it’s less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch—via text—and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to, you know, see each other.


The story took me a little while to get into, but once I did, I couldn’t put it down.

The chapters alternate from following newbie college student Penny and baker/barista Sam, as they trudge and fumble through life.

At first, I struggled to connect with the characters and ultimately, I found I connected more with Sam. There were times when Penny wasn’t all that likeable, the way she behaved towards her mother and female friends etc.

The heart-warming: two younglings feeling completely alone and overwhelmed with life manage to find each other and help each other get through their respective issues. A close, caring and comforting friendship develops between the two main characters. THEN THEY FALL FOR EACH OTHER. I’m a sucker for a friends to lovers story.

My favourite part of the story was the closeness between the characters that developed out of their text messages. It felt ‘very now’ what with how much of our lives are lived through our phones these days.

The heavy: casual racism, low socioeconomic America, rape (past), alcohol abuse and emotionally toxic relationships.

Conclusion: Emergency Contact is a YA contemporary featuring a strangers-to-friends-to-couple plot. It’s a slow starter, but once the main characters friendship starts to develop, you’ll be hooked. Some heavy issues are touched on during the story, but by the end your heart will be warm and full.


The #AusYABloggers in collaboration with Simon & Schuster Australia are running a blog tour for Emergency Contact from January 15th until January 19th, there will be giveaways, reviews and more. To follow along the tour click HERE.

Author & Book LINKS: Twitter | Instagram | Website |
Thanks for visiting The Adventures of SacaKat.
Until next time, enjoy your shelves :-).

Day of Execution: Review

43193127Day of Execution (Paranormal Detectives #7) by  Lily Luchesi
Genre: Paranormal Crime
Publication: January 1st 2019
Publisher: Vamptasy Publishing
Source: Review copy from Author – Thank you.
Add to Goodreads
Rating: ✵✵✵✵

Blood is not thicker than water.
The Undead are restless, and the Empress feels powerless to heal the rift within the vampiric empire. As tensions rise, Angelica and Danny must hold a crumbling paranormal world together. But a knocking from the portal into Hell makes for a dark distraction. What horrors will the new Lieutenant of the Underworld heap upon them?


Battle scenes, gore and vampire lore, OH MY. And here was I thinking book six was fast and furious, book seven was even more so!

The book starts with a big bang and rips through at a startling pace. Battle scenes galore, revenge seeking, deception, decaying corpses and the genocide of a certain paranormal species.

I am SHOOKETH. Why you say, because:

  1. “the genocide of a certain paranormal species” – Yeah, that.

AND

  1. I was keen after Danny’s descendant turning up in book 6 to see how that character panned out – It didn’t end up going the way I was hoping.
  2. There is the reappearance of a character from the very first book.
  3. We get to meet the new Lieutenant of hell – Yeah, super fun times bro.
  4. *spoiler* Danny gets his psychic powers back – I LOVED this twist actually!
  5. THE EPILOGUE! Those last couple of sentences! – Bring on book 8 and what I’m sure will be a killer conclusion to this action packed, heart and heat filled paranormal crime fighting series supreme.

Lily’s Links: Website | Amazon | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Thanks for visiting The Adventures of SacaKat.
Until next time, enjoy your shelves :-).